Disqus / WordPress Integration — Clear as Mud

Yes, I’m getting onto the social media bandwagon, and I’m now blogging daily.  Oooh aaah.

I’m finding indeed that commenting is also something I enjoy doing.

In practice, I enjoy this blogging / commenting thing not so much because I’m all web 2.0 and whatever.  It’s way simpler–I find that writing helps me figure out what I think.  If I want to understand and process all that’s going on, for me, writing fits the bill.  To have all these great and easy tools to do that and engage with people is terrific.

One such tool is Disqus.  I like Disqus–a lot of promise.  That said, I tried to get it to connect and integrate with my WordPress blog (this one) today.  I’ve read the instructions closely and I’ve looked at things pretty closely, and I’ve still got no sense of what the heck I’m supposed to do.

Here are the directions.  That said, everything that’s supposed to be done on the WordPress Dashboard is nonsensical given the UI I see.

Disqus instructions

Any WordPressers who get the steps, and have more updated screenshots, I’d welcome any guidance.  Right now, Disqus is not integrated in my blog as I can’t figure out the directions. 😦

5 Comments

Filed under internet, technology

5 responses to “Disqus / WordPress Integration — Clear as Mud

  1. Hi Jeremiah,

    Unfortunately, WordPress.com does not support Disqus as they don’t openly accept plugins. The instructions you see are for self-hosted WordPress blogs.

  2. Andrew

    You can’t use Disqus with a wordpress.com account; the platform is too restrictive. The instructions you found are for people who host their own WordPress blog.

  3. Thanks guys–very responsive, I appreciate it. That’s too bad! I might suggest that the instructions call it out a bit more clearly. But geesh WordPress–why wouldn’t you provide this to hosted WP blogs?

    Thanks.

    Jay

  4. yokum

    Hey Jay,

    Did you switch back to the basic Kubrick default theme or did something else get screwed up too?

  5. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

